Reviews

Congratulations from Booking.com – you’re a Traveller Review Award winner! – January 27, 2020

“Celebrating your amazing achievement!

It’s been another year of incredible experiences, and your guests have spoken. Congratulations! You’re officially a 2020 award-winner.

A Traveller Review Award is more than a certificate, and your score is more than a number. It’s the hard work you’ve put in, the unique experiences you’ve created and the trips you’ve made unforgettable.

You’re making a difference to people’s lives every day. From all of us at Booking.com, thank you.”

Anna and Mark from Australia – March 18, 2017

“We loved the eco-green aspects, the welcome and helpful advice given by Lindy, and how smooth the it was to arrange extras joining us. We would stay again and recommend it to everyone. I love the culture and the kindness to the environment.”

From Germany – March 18, 2017

“Such harmonious facilities, friendly service, and great breakfast. Thank you!”

From the UK – March 18, 2017

“Our expectations were high and were met with multinational expertise and friendliness! We had some wonderful breakfasts. We would not have changed a thing – except maybe the rain. It is sad to see the owners going – we hope the new people can keep the vibe!”

From Australia – March 15, 2017

“We love the relaxed atmosphere, especially the lounge and honesty system. Thank you – we will recommend it!”

Very friendly somewhat Bohemian B and B in a delightful suburb – March 2, 2017

“Deceptively large period villa in a trendy Auckland suburb half an hour’s walk from city centre.
We had the penthouse which was large and comfortable with oriental carpets. A kitchen and dining area were useful. The balcony was great but no shade if very sunny.
A lovely sitting room with CDs, and books were one can meet other guests. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and were generous in giving their local knowledge. Decent leaf tea!!! Including Darjeeling and Lapsang Souchong. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent.
So much nicer than a standard anonymous hotel. The owners are very concerned about the environment and the toiletries supplied were all eco friendly. There is an honesty bar in the sitting room. They arrange transpor to to and from the airport if required.
We were very pleased we chose this place.”

Great Location – February 28, 2017

“Great wee hotel – a collection of individual studios and the house itself which is of the old wooden style throughout this area. Quirky and homely – we had a room in the house. It was small but lovely, with a small patio area to have a glass of wine and soak up the sun. Staff very helpful and went out of their way to give us as much information as we needed for the area and Auckland itself. Wish we could have stayed longer.”

Janet and Paul from the USA – February 25, 2017

“We loved the local knowledge and pointers given by Kirsty – so helpful! The whole team have given us amazing service and we will definitely come back. You are all stars!”

From the UK – February 22, 2017

“From the very first person greeting us to the last farewelling us, everyone was smiley and helped us immensely. It is the little extras around the place that were great and an amazing selection for breakfast. Very kiwiana!”

A quiet backwater near to everything – February 19, 2017

“A friendly B and B in a traditional villa that serves a great breakfast. Its near to a varying selection of restaurants and shops and has good access to the city. The villa has interesting hosts who provide a wealth of information about their home and the surrounding area.”

Great quiet place to stay near every thing in Auckland – February 13, 2017

“I loved my stay here. This is really nice b&b with great beds and wonderful breakfast. The eggs Benedict was delicious, I had it almost every morning. I stayed in the orange room which was perfect for me. It had a sitting area mini kitchen and a great bed. It was at the end of a building away to on the main building which was just what I wanted since I had early morning work calls. The staff is so friendly. They helped me with all my dinner and tour reservations. They were quite professional. I especially liked the young man who helped clean up kitchen. He was like a big cute teddy bear!”

Wonderful B&B – February 6, 2017

“I have visited the Great Ponsonby twice with my family during my visit to New Zealand. It is located perfectly in the Ponsonby area, where you will find decent shops and restaurants away from the typical tourist hassle. On the other side you have easy and fast access to downtown using the inner link bus. The hotel itself is very nice, has an extremely friendly and helpful service as well as a great breakfast. Can recommend it to anyone visiting Auckland for a few days!”

From the USA and Canada – February 5, 2017

“The hospitality was great – they have us an upgrade without asking, the quality of the breakfast was wonderful, as well as the charm of the neighbourhood and the spacious, comfy room. The staff were welcoming and accommodating, and the place was very clean. Loved our stay!”

Welcoming smiles all round – February 2, 2017

“It was if everyone working there really cared that we had a good time and felt at home. Highly recommend it.”

John and Diane from England – January 22, 2017

“Being given some local knowledge and and pointers of where to go made us feel confident and welcome in Auckland. The whole team of staff were really kind and Caring”

Silvia from Brazil – January 16, 2017

“The people here are so welcoming and warm. I feel like I am at a friend’s house. The room is amazing and the food is delicious – for me it’s perfect.”

Wonderful location and great owners – January 15, 2017

“We had a great time at this B&B. Very friendly and helpful staff, plus a wonderful breakfast. One of the best breakfasts we have had. Perfect location for walking all over Auckland. The decor is charming.”

Christina and Hans from Germany – December 19, 2016

“Friendly staff, nice room, good bed, friendly and welcoming, and we appreciated the fruit in the room and complementary drink when we arrived. We have just one complaint – it was raining!”

Perfection – June 10, 2016

“Brilliant – every time we stay. Exceeds all expectations.”

Guests from Spain – May 18, 2016

“The service/treatment of guests is perfect and the decor is in context. Wouldn’t change a thing – keep working as you do.”

Friendly & Helpful – February 23, 2016

“We were pleased to find fresh fruit in our room and alcoholic as well as non-acoholic drinks in the minibar fridge. Staff were very friendly and helped us maximise our few hours in Auckland by giving us tips and driving us to the harbour to get a ferry on time. Travelling from Germany.”

Loved the Art Decor – January 27, 2016

“We loved the friendly service, the complementary drink upon arrival, the atmosphere, and the art decor. The customer service exceeded our expectations. We loved our stay and would certainly come back again. From New Zealand”

Outstanding Breakfast – January 18, 2016

“Good quiet neighbourhood, large room (Pam Garden Studio), outstanding eggs florentine for breakfast. It was excellent! Travelling from the USA.”

Even had a menu in German – January 14, 2016

“The Great Ponsonby exceeded our expectations – the breakfast, our welcome was very friendly, people are friendly, very good advice for sightseeing, and we could stay in our room until 3pm which was great. They even had a menu in German. Travelling from Germany”

Exceeded Our Expectations – January 4, 2016

“The size and amenities of the room and the friendliness of the staff exceeded our expectations. Travelling from the USA”

Highly Recommended. – January 3, 2016

“Amazing, friendly, helpful staff and owners who treat guests like family. A very cool place to stay, keep up the amazing service. Highly recommended. Travelling from Korea”

Warm Welcome – January 3, 2016

“A warm welcome and a lot of attention to people. From France.”

A Magic Place – Anne W – September 2, 2015

“There are some places on the world you just never forget. This is one of them. It is right on the middle of the best part of of Auckland. One of the things I like the most is the personal service. Nothing was too hard, any information we needed we got. We were told about the interesting restaurants to visit, where to go for a walk on the way to town.

It is so easy to get around as there is a bus close by that does a circuit of the city every ten minutes. A five minute walk gave us a choice of around fifty restaurants.

The breakfast provided was the best we had on our holiday and cooked to order.

We have stayed here before and will stay here any time we are on Auckland.

Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple.”

Great for solo travellers – August 19, 2015

“Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Very friendly and reassuring (hotel) – great for someone travelling alone. Excellent.”

They have the right recipe – August 19, 2015

“Love staying at the The Great Ponsonby Arthotel. Always stay here when in Auckland. Friendly and high standard of cleanliness. Excellent.”

Lovely people, lovely place. Can’t recommend enough. – August 16, 2015

“A slightly eccentric but thoroughly professional B&B/hotel. Clean, friendly and warm. Great cooks, great company, really thoughtful & helpful. Put a full proper breakfast out for me for a v early start on my last morning – without it even being asked for or paid for. Lovely people, lovely place. Can’t recommend enough.
Stayed August 2015, travelled with family”